Now this is a cute, and EXTREMELY helpful article. Since I want to be a writer as my career, I always feel like I must approach my works like a “professional writer” should. This mindset limits my ability to get words to a page and consequently depresses me to no end. Approaching writing like a puppy sounds much more fun! (And besides, PUPPIES!)

Live to Write - Write to Live

Writing is serious business. Doing it well requires study, commitment, and dedication. There is a lot to learn – form, structure, style, voice – more craft nuances than I can name. “Real” writers sacrifice for their art. As Hemingway said, “There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.”

BUT …

Sometimes, you just gotta play.

I mean, you don’t want to be this guy, do you?

Victor Hugo Victor Hugo

I didn’t think so.

Writing may be hard work, but that doesn’t mean it can’t also be fun. The trick is learning to approach it with a different mindset. Instead of coming to your writing with the weight of the world on your shoulders, try thinking about your time at the keyboard as a play session.

Going for it Going for it

Which brings me to puppies.

Puppies know how to play. They can make a game…

View original post 273 more words

One thought on “Short and Sweet Advice for Writers – Write Like a Puppy

Leave a Reply

