On the Other Side

For those of you who do not know, I am the proud member of the Chi Omega women’s fraternity. I was initiated this past February, and I forged many friendships that I hope last throughout my life.

Throw What You Know Wherever You Go
I remember rush (or recruitment) as a blur of intense emotions, outfits and heat. I was running around in my best clothes with flip flops on my feet and heels in my hand. Literally, it was 90+Β° the entire week, and the whole time I was being greeted by hundreds of women screaming chants with almost creepy huge smiles and perfectly coordinated clothes.

Now, as a fully initiated member, I get to be a part of those smiling, screaming girls for the Potential New Members (PNMs). YAY!

So Excited!

Rush is a new and exciting experience, and there are many reasons why I can’t wait to begin!

One of the main reasons is that I bond with my current pledge class(PC). My PC has over 80 girls in it, and as a freshman, I didn’t get to know most of them for many reasons (lack of shared classes, differing personalities, etc.) I admit, the enormous size of my PC and the small amount of girls who actually hung out with me made me consider dropping Chi Omega altogether.

Recruitment forces all the girls who didn’t know each other well to hang out and work together to recruit new members. Everyone must do the same chant, get up at the same time, and avoid provoking the Recruitment Chair into a fury. It forges that life long bond all sororities talk about.

Old Fears…

I have often struggled with self-esteem, fighting to remain true to myself even when faced with ridicule and judgement. I would be lying if being in a sorority doesn’t sometimes bring that up.

I’m afraid that I will frighten a possible sister away because I am too weird when another would have convinced her to join. I’m afraid that my sisters will reject me after living with me because they see how I am 24/7.

A Life-Changing Experience

With all of these emotions roiling about, there’s a few things I know for certain:

  1. I made the right choice in choosing Chi Omega.
  2. My sisters will always have my back, no matter what.
  3. I can’t wait to meet our new Baby Hooties!
Me before I became a Chi Omega

Your Thoughts

If you are/were a part of a sorority/fraternity, what were you experiences? What were your favorite experiences during recruitment or any other Greek activities?
If you aren’t in a sorority/fraternity, what questions do you have about Greek Life? Are you thinking of joining one?

Let me know in the comments below!

(Featured Image: a painting by me inspired by this painting found on Pinterest)

7 thoughts on “Excitement & Fear for Rush

      1. I wish you the best of luck as you explore and adventure through England on your study abroad! Your photographs of your throw what you know’s are awesome! I look forward to reading more about your adventures.

        Like

      2. Thank you again! I hope your adventures wherever you go include a few pics throwing what you know too! I can’t wait to read more of your adventures as well!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

